Sitcom Spec Writing Workshop

EDIT 7/6/13

The fourth session will start in Sept. Register here – www.kiyongkim.com/writing/workshop

EDIT 4/24/13My third session will start in June. You can put yourself on the wait list by emailing me at mr.kiyongkim@gmail.com.

EDIT 1/24/13

I haven’t officially announced my second session, but people are already RSVPing. Class will probably be Sundays, 1pm PST / 4pm EST.

EDIT 12/14/12

All spots have been filled for the workshop! I’d like to do this again in Feb, so email me if you’re interested. Thanks.

- – -

I’ve thought about this for a while, but I finally decided to run an online sitcom spec writing workshop. The main reason to write a spec script these days is so you can apply to the different writing fellowships. I know how to write a good spec. I wrote spec scripts that got me into the NBC Writers on the Verge program and the Nickelodeon Writing Fellowship, and I’ll take you through the same process that I used.

WHAT TO EXPECT

We’ll go over everything from beginning to end, including picking what show to spec, pitching and writing loglines, writing a synopsis, an outline, and then your draft. The goal is to have a new, polished spec ready to submit to contests and fellowships.

There will be weekly assignments, and you’ll be expected to read and have notes for everyone’s work in addition to working on your own writing.

Besides writing the spec scripts, we’ll also cover writing the bios for the various writing program applications, and preparation for the interview process.

Here’s a quick overview of the syllabus for the first 4 weeks:
http://kiyong.wordpress.com/2012/11/24/sitcom-spec-workshop-syllabus

What we’ll cover in the last 4 weeks:
http://kiyong.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/sitcom-spec-writing-workshop-syllabus-part-2

LOCATION

The workshop will be online, so you’ll need a computer with a web cam and a high speed internet connection. All of the classes will be group video chats using Google+  which is free.

COST$450.

For comparison, UCLA Extension charges over $500 for a 10 week class, but you’ll only have an outline after the class, not a finished script.

https://www.uclaextension.edu/Pages/Course.aspx?reg=Y7766

ENROLLMENT

I need 5 students minimum, 8 students max per workshop.

If you’re interested or have any questions, email me at mr.kiyongkim@gmail.com. Please let me know what other specs you’ve written. Thanks.

8 thoughts on “Sitcom Spec Writing Workshop

  1. Pingback: sitcom spec workshop syllabus | kiyong's blog of creative pursuits

  2. Pingback: sitcom spec writing workshop – more info | kiyong's blog of creative pursuits

  3. Pingback: sitcom spec writing workshop syllabus part 2 | kiyong's blog of creative pursuits

Leave a Reply

